About Our District

The Renfrew County District School Board (RCDSB) is in the north-eastern region of Ontario. Our district is bounded by the Ottawa River on the east and Algonquin Park on the west. Our southern-most schools are in Arnprior and our northern-most school is in Deep River. We have seven secondary schools and 23 elementary schools. In addition, we have adult high schools and Programs for Alternative Learning (PAL) in Arnprior, Renfrew, Pembroke and Barry's Bay.

Putting children first is our number one priority. As part of our strategic plan, we have installed interactive whiteboards in all our classrooms across the county; we have 3,200 iPads and 1,500 Chromebooks distributed throughout the system; added wireless capability to all our schools; and upgraded our Wide Area Network (WAN) by installing a fibre optic cable to all of our schools. For even more on the technologies being used in our schools and by our students visit our Information Technology page.

We opened our first Kindergarten to Grade 12 state-of-the-art facility in Deep River at Mackenzie Community School.

In 2015, we opened our largest school ever, Valour Kindergarten to Grade 12 School in Petawawa. The school is home to more than 1,200 students including 250 Kindergarten students.

We are very proud of our active Parent Involvement Committee (PIC), which engages parents and organizes multiple initiatives including the PIC Symposium.

Key Outcomes

The RCDSB's three key outcomes to success include:

  1. Excellence in Teaching and Learning
  2. Safe, Caring and Respectful Learning Environments
  3. Wise Use of Resources

Quick Facts

Number of schools


Elementary Schools


Secondary Schools



9,462 (effective 2014)

Elementary Enrolment


Secondary Enrolment


2015-2016 Budget


Operating expenditures by area:

School Operations


Board Administration

Continuing Education & Other Pathways

Classroom Support Expenditures