Structures for Student Achievement

The following is the Renfrew County District School Board's (RCDSB) organizational structures to support student achievement. Each leader is committed to our key principle of Excellence in Teaching and Learning and to improving individual achievement and student engagement by implementing educational best practices.

Executive Council



Pino Buffone
Director of Education


Strategic direction (including strategic planning processes); policy development and implementation; support of Board in political advocacy; establishment of community partnerships for the district; and, Parent Involvement Committee (PIC).



Assistant to the Director - Shelley McIntyre

t. 613.735.0151 x2232 / 

Jonathan Laderoute, Communications Manager

Communications services; coordination of fundraising initiatives; oversight of operations committee (including administrative procedures and forms); support of Board in communications protocols; and, Accessibility Working Committee (AODA).

Jen Barnes
Superintendent of Business

(Corporate Services)


Finance (including budget, benefits and payroll functions); Facilities (including long-term accommodation planning); Community Hubs; Purchasing; Transportation; Privacy and Records Management; and, Legal, Leases and Insurance matters.


Administrative Assistant - Dawn White

t. 613.735.0151 x2272 / 


Brent McIntyre
Superintendent of Employee Services
(Employee Services) 

Human Resources; Labour Relations; Negotiations; Staff Development (including performance appraisal processes, leadership development, mentoring programs and succession planning); NTIP; Staffing; Employee Wellness; Attendance Management; Workplace Investigations; and, Health & Safety.


Steve Blok
Superintendent of Education
(Program Services)

Integration of Early Years Programs and Services; Early Learning (including program quality, assessment & evaluation); Coordination of Early Development Instrument (EDI); Environmental Education; Information and Communication Technologies; and, International Education.
Administrative Assistant - Sharon McCafferty
t. 613.735.0151 x 3316 /

Family of Schools: Arnprior and Renfrew 

Renald Cousineau
Superintendent of Education
(Program Services)

School Effectiveness Lead (SEF); Board Improvement Planning; Assessment & Evaluation - elementary; Literacy & Numeracy initiatives - elementary; ESL; FSL; Well-Being Strategy (including safe and accepting schools, healthy schools, positive mental health, equity and inclusive education); Indigenous Education; and, School Year Calendar.

Administrative Assistant - Linda Sluiman

t. 613.735.0151 x3307 / 


Family of Schools: Deep River, Petawawa and Madawaska 

Jacqueline Poirier 

Superintendent of Education

(Program Services) 


Student Success Lead (SSL); Student Success Initiatives (including, OYAP, Dual Credits, and Re-engagement Initiative); Assessment & Evaluation - secondary; Literacy & Numeracy initiatives - secondary; MISA; Special Education (including Crown Ward Education Championship Team); Alternative Education; and, Continuing Education.

Administrative Assistant - Alicia Hilts 

t. 613.735.0151 x3314 /

Family of Schools: Opeongo & Pembroke

System Leaders



Bill Smith, Supervising Principal of Special Services

Amy Cybulski, Secretary

Responsible for the supervision of special education consultants, itinerant teachers and assessment staff, coordinates County Identification, Placement and Review Committee (IPRC) processes and special education budget, supervises Section 23 at New Horizons Site, coordinates school support counsellor and educational assistants staffing/training/support, home instruction, acts as liaison for Special Education Advisory Committee (SEAC), community-based agencies (CCAC), Home Instruction, assists with the staffing/training/support of school support counsellors, responsible for the implementation and training associated with restorative justice practices, acts as a liaison with community-based agencies, regional committees and the Ministry of Education.

Jenny Smith, Student Success Leader

Responsible for the implementation of all student success initiatives from Grades 7 to 12, including Specialist High Skills Majors (SHSM) , co-operative education, dual credits, Think Literacy, Leading Math Success, and transition programs from elementary to secondary schools.

Ann Gagan, Secondary Curriculum Leader

Responsible for the implementation of Ministry and RCDSB program initiatives at the secondary panel, including e-learning.

Lisa LaRiviere

Mental Health Leader

Responsible for improving the mental health and well being of children and youth in the RCDSB. Works with system leaders in the board and community partners to further develop, implement and communicate a comprehensive board mental health and addictions strategy that promotes positive child and youth mental health. The Mental Health Leader works in collaboration with the Ministry of Education on the Open Minds, Healthy Minds Ontario Health and Addictions Strategy.

Stephen Blok, Instructional Technology portfolio

Responsible for technologies that increase student engagement, development of protocols for the use of emerging technologies in schools, technological innovation in classroom instruction and assessment, Managing Information for Student Achievement (MISA), report cards, training for system staff, system communication plan and initiatives, and maintenance of student achievement data.