Renfrew County District School Board holds its inaugural meeting for the 2018-2022 term

Posted on Monday December 10, 2018

2018-2022 Board of Trustees

The Renfrew County District School Board holds its inaugural meeting for the 2018-2022 term
Two new trustees join six incumbents around the board table


(Pembroke, Ontario) This evening, the Renfrew County District School Board (RCDSB) elected a new Chairperson and Vice-chairperson for the coming year as well as committee representatives.

 Vice-chair Susan Humphries was acclaimed for the position of Chair of the Board. Susan represents the Town of Renfrew and McNab-Braeside. 

“I am honoured to have the trust and support of my colleagues around the table,” said Humphries. “We have a dedicated and hardworking team – a team that is truly focused on what is best for student achievement and well-being in our District. I am looking forward to beginning our new four year term with a strong board of dedicated trustees.” 

Chair Humphries previously worked for the Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs for over 35 years where she worked with local, regional and provincial 4-H volunteers, members and parents managing budgets, staff and offices across the eastern and southwest regions of Ontario. 

She recently sat as a public member on the Horton Township General Government Committee and has taught courses on communications and critical thinking for Algonquin College in Pembroke. She was first elected in 2014. 

 Bryon Morris, trustee from the Town of Petawawa, was unopposed in his effort to secure the position of Vice-chair. 

“We have much to celebrate,” said Morris. “The extremely positive working relationship we have with our close partners in Senior Administration and the dedication of all our employees, be they teachers, custodial and secretarial staff, will ensure that our students continue to thrive.”

Vice-chair Morris was a trustee on the District’s predecessor - the District Renfrew County Board of Education - representing Petawawa for fifteen years, from 1976 to 1991. He was elected to the RCDSB in 2014.


The Board also elected its Committee representatives for the coming year.



For further information regarding this release, please contact:


Jonathan Laderoute
Communications Manager
Renfrew County District School Board
office: 613.735.0151 ext. 2231
mobile: 613.635.3528